FSA 56 - $149.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This battery-powered trimmer bundle comes standard with battery and charger, and combines great power and lightweight portability. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

Note: Product availability may vary by location. Part of the STIHL AK Series, the FSA 56 battery-powered trimmer is a great choice for suburban homeowners who demand performance and durability at an exceptional value. Part of the STIHL Lightning Battery System™ line of products, the FSA 56 bundle comes standard with the AK 10 battery and AL 101 battery charger. It is lightweight at only 7.3 ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FSA 56 Specifications
WEIGHT w/o Battery 2.5 kg. (5.5 lbs.)
w/ AK 10 3.3 kg. (7.3 lbs.)
RUN TIME (w/ AK 10) Up to 17 minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AK 20) Up to 34 minutes
CUTTING WIDTH 28 cm (11")
Weight without cutting attachment or guard. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Trimmers
    View the features common to many STIHL trimmers.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any trimmer/brushcutter can cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow all safety instructions in your instruction manual. To reduce the risk of injury from blade contact, circular saw blades may be used on FS brushcutters that have a limitstop, a bicycle handle and double shoulder harness and not on FS brushcutters with a "J" handle or loop handle. Other rigid blades may be used on FS brushcutters having a bicycle handle, a "J" handle or a loop handle equipped with a barrier bar. To reduce the risk of eye injury always wear proper eye protection. Always use the appropriate deflector for the type of cutting attachment, as explained in your instruction manual.
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Heads & Blades
    Many trimmer heads and blades are available. Find out which ones to use with this model in this chart.  
  • Zoom
    Trimmer Line
    There's high-performance STIHL trimmer line for every operating condition. 
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • Quiet Line™ Zoom
    Quiet Line™
    STIHL uses a custom blend of polymers to produce a trimmer line with the best all-around characteristics of abrasion resistance, flexibility over time and temperature ranges, and welding resistance. Quiet Line™ is available in .080” and .095” diameters and comes color-coded so that the diameter can be easily determined.

     

     

     Trimmer Chart
  • AK 10 Lithium-Ion Battery Zoom
    AK 10 Lithium-Ion Battery
    Note: Product availability may vary by location.







    Part of the STIHL AK Series, the AK 10 battery delivers an incredible power-to-weight ratio at an affordable price. The battery weighs only 1.8 lbs. and is great for applications where reduced weight is preferred. STIHL batteries also offer minimal loss of charge during storage and a long service life – more than 80% of battery capacity remains after 500 charges. Indicator lights show the battery level of charge, so you can plan your productivity accordingly. Inside the battery, sensors monitor the temperature and automatically shut the battery down if it becomes too hot. Check it out, as well as all our STIHL battery products, at our Dealership today!







    View Our Usage Chart
  • AL 101 Battery Charger Zoom
    AL 101 Battery Charger
    Note: Product availability may vary by location.



    The AL 101 battery charger is designed for the AK Series of STIHL Lithium-Ion batteries. Achieve 80% charge on the AK 10 battery in less than an hour. The AL 101 battery charger also shuts off automatically after the battery has been fully charged, ensuring your energy costs stay lower and your STIHL batteries stay cool. There’s even an onboard indicator light showing the current charging status. The charger can also be wall mounted, saving countertop space. Check it out, as well as other STIHL battery products, at our Dealership today!



    View Our Usage Chart
For Your Safety
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.
  • Reusable Ear Plugs Zoom
    Reusable Ear Plugs
    Top-quality hearing protection you can keep in your pocket. NRR 27 Reusable Ear Plugs from STIHL feature multiple layers of air cushioning for superior noise reduction and long-lasting comfort. Their tapered design provides a secure seal that keeps you protected almost anywhere – from the shooting range to the job site. And thanks to the included nylon cord and carrying case, you can keep your ear plugs handy for the long haul.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FSA 56 is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointed. Does not have the power required to trim and edge my lawn. Also, had to charge the battery 3 times. Will have to purchase a second battery so while one is charging, I will be using the other one. Also, the line broke 5 times in the first use so I had to take the head apart and put line through the guide holes to be able to continue.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Easy to operate, easy to change line when needed. I us it to trim around 3 lots that are about 4.5 acres each.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The trimmer is good other than reloading the line is awful. I wish there was a blade attachment then it would be 5 stars The trimmer is good other than reloading the line is awful. I wish there was a blade attachment then it would be 5 stars
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I was quite surprised at how well this battery trimmer worked. Its light weight and balanced. The battery lasted much longer than I expected. Plenty of power. Only little feature that could be better is the safety lock having to push it every time you squeeze the trigger but then again it is designed for safety. I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love that this product does not have a cord, is lite and easy to maintain. I love it! It is lite enough for me to operate it. It is dependable and the value is great.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible experience with this trimmer. I purchased this trimmer about 2 months ago and have had problems a lot of issues with it. I cannot keep the line flowing-it keeps breaking off inside the spool. I have replaced the spool several times with your premanufactured spooling and it still does not work well. Every time I have used it I have had problems so today was the final straw. Could not even get half of my edging done. Very disappointed in this pricey trimmer.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in every way I bought my trimmer 2 weeks ago and have already used it about 8 hours. It has no problem cutting ragweed and other southwest invasive stuff for hours on end. It's well designed for comfort (I got a harness) and for maintenance. I changed the string once and it was easy - good tutorials on youtube. I've owned a Stihl chainsaws for decades and would not seriously think about getting another brand. Also the price was really competitive with other well rated brands.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice tool Used it for bed edging and fences on 3/4 acre lot and it worked great. Edged the whole yard on one charge and it recharged in 35 minutes - just enough for a beer break. Also took down overgrown grass and weeds with no problem. Used it three times so I have no idea how reliable it's going to be long term but so far I'm very happy with my investment.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trimmer Dies - not battery issue Have taken back 3 time in less than 2 months. First time dealer gave me a replacement. 2nd time found 2 wires had disconnected. 3rd time still in shop waiting for a response from dealer/Stihl rep. When working it is great but have yet to get through yard completely without dieing.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for clearing a large areas af tall grass I was using a walk behind trimmer thinking I thought I needed the power, because my previous string trimmers were low end modeIs. I was wrong the FSA 56 is five time faster clearing the same area on our property. I use to thing my chain saw was my best Stihl purchase l, but now it is the FSA 56. I can't believe how much time it save me when we go to our cabin on the weekends.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good tool.. but Purchased the FSA56 about a month ago. Works well and I can accomplish all i need todo before the battery needs charging.. Issue: I go to look for a trimmer line spool (with line replacement) just in case.. The manual.. shows nothing, even under a section call Replacement Parts and Equipment", you would think they would list a part number.. nothing its only a AD telling you to make sure you buy Stihl product replacement! Really.. The manual states nothing on line size either.. The best I can see its a Autocut 2-2 mowing head.. The web shows nothing on replacement... Terrible.. who wrote their manual!
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good battery trimmer Had this for about 3 months. Is very light and easy to use. I've had no problems replacing the string on mine. Has arrow showing which way to wind string. Feeds like its suppose too. Much more power than I ever thought it would have. Battery life not nearly as long as claimed. I can get my small yard trimmed if I go very fast. Good news is it charges back up fast. I would like to have xtra battery. But they are pricey. This is not a trimmer to clean out a fence row. But perfect for yard work.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spent to much, before finding issue I had a gas trimmer, took it in to service and looked at the battery operated trimmer and bought it. After a month or so, it started using to much line and the cover wore out , none in stock, took one off the display started using again and I purchased at least 4 units if addional packs if trimmer line, I was told to bring it in to check. I went to pick of and it cost me told to stay away from concrete and rocks. Bottom line I have approximate 320.00 dollars in it. My old gas mode I used for 7 years and done nothing to it, very unhappy
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't get the line to feed out It cuts very good but I have not been able to get the line to feed out when needed. The line may have been on the spool for quite some time an seems to be bent in a circular position. I'll know better it runs out and has to be replaced. As for now I have to take the spool out and reload it when I need more line.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery dies fast I have an average size yard didnt even make it threw on the battery. It is also very low powered have to go over spots twice. I would not recommend.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed after 10 uses After only about 10 uses for my average size yard the gears in the head froze up. It won't run at all. I will have to bring it back for warranty repair so I will not be able to use it for a while. Also there was no mention in the instructions that you have to replace the entire spool when the line runs out. It should also come with a longer lasting battery.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All Good EXCEPT Replacement Line Brought home, charged battery, started to trim lawn. Impressed with power, quiet operation, and overall design. Ran out of line fairly quickly, but chainlink fence will do that, no problem, I'll just replace with .080 green round line (Stihl) and keep going. WRONG!! This line is too hard and won't cut properly when line is advanced. The unit tries to cut, but ends up spitting the spool, spring, and all the guts on the ground. Went to dealer with questions, but no answer. Stihl didn't think this one through. Can't buy type of line that comes with it in bulk (yet). Dealer had no replacement spools in stock. I do like the operation of the unit otherwise.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and Bad I love the way the trimmer works and how lighweight it is. I already have a gas trimmer but wanted something that was easier on my back. I was disappointed that the battery would not last long enough to trim my whole yard and I do not have a big yard. They claim that you can trim the length of 3 football fields on one battery. Well if that is true they are trimming while running!! I had to buy a second battery just to get by yard done which made the trimmer more expensive then I planned. I am also disappointed that it was not designed with refillable trim line. You have to buy the replacement spools instead which also adds to the cost of the unit.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and good price I have used this product four or five times and are very happy with it. It has all the power that I need for an acre of trimming and have never ran out of battery. It is light and easy to handle even for a senior citizen.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and easy to use. (Great Products) Well, it's me again. This time instead of discussing Stihl's trimmer re-stringing I'm going to write about battery life. I bought two of Stihl's battery products on the same day, their 56 trimmer and their 56 blower. The trimmer came with a 10, and their blower came with a 20 numbered battery: the higher the number, the longer they will last. After using the trimmer a couple of times, I used some electrical tape and taped all three buttons to their on position. With all three in the on position, all I had to do was push in the battery till it clicked and presto trimmer running at full tilt, and then all I have to do is carry it around. If I have to stop the trimmer, I just push the orange button on the side, and it turns off. Here Stihl might want to rethink their configuration and install a simple electrical on and off switch and forget their multi-button design: too much trouble. Now as to the battery life of the 10 and 20 batteries, no complaints here. The Trimmer runs for about 17- 20 minutes, and the Blower about the same. There's a total 4 charging light bars on each battery. I have a large lawn, with about 22 minutes of fast walk trimming to do and 15 minutes of blowing. When I’m finished with both, I have used 6 of those bars. Keep in mind; I don't turn my trimmer off during that 22 minutes of trimming. If I run out of the 10 battery, I just pop in the 20 battery, and I'm back in business. I'm well pleased with Stihl's now "Constant ON" trimmer and their blower. In comparison to their gas trimmer for lawn work their battery trimmer is working out 10 times better for me than the very nice straight pipe Stihl trimmer I have, which that took me 45 minutes to trim my lawn. Of course, if you need a trimmer to cut heavy weeds then maybe the gas trimmer is what you need, but if you want to stay "COOL" along with "QUIET" then let me suggest you invest in a BATTERY STIHL TRIMMER and BLOWER. (Don’t forget to use a little electrical tape, you'll be glad you did.)
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't Find Replacement Spools This should be a great product because it is lightweight, quiet and handy. However, I have had mine for a month and have used up all the line in the spool that came with it. It appears they designed this with the idea that users would by replacement spools with line included. It may be possible to buy new line in bulk and restring the spool but there are no instructions for how to do that and my local Stihl dealer could not help. My local Stihl dealers have not had replacement spools in stock since I purchased my trimmer. They say they are on back-order. As a long-time Stihl advocate and user, this is disappointing from a company with the Stihl reputation.The battery life is somewhat limited--I cannot do my entire yard on one charge. The local Stihl dealer did not have spare batteries in stock so I bought the battery powered blower that uses the same battery. It is not as powerful as my backpack blower but super handy for blowing off the deck or cleaning out my garage.If Stihl gets the pipeline going on replacement spools or provides detailed guidance on restring the spools, I'll be happy with this product.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm?? Let me start by saying that this is perfect for someone my size........short! It isn't too heavy and is easy on my low back. The problem I have encountered is that it doesn't come with an instruction manual so I have had to search online. I did download the instructions for the FSA 56 but there is no information on how to replace the trimmer line for this model. They forgot I guess? I will have to go back to the dealer and ask for assistance. I should have read reviews prior to purchasing as there have been other owners run into the same problem. Darn!! Live and learn!
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! What is not to like? Light, powerful, long battery life. No Gas! No Air Filter or routine maintenance. Lithium Ion Battery units have come a long way! Stihl has it right on this one!
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor spool design, no Stihl support Purchased this trimmer from a local dealer/tractor supply back in February. Now that it's time to start doing yard work I go to use the trimmer. Difficult to get string out of spool. Works OK when string is out. Half way around small yard and the spool runs out. No information on string size or spool loading in owners manual. Find out string size finally, reload spool and same issue. Now I find out Stihl has designed the spool to be REPLACED, not reloaded. I'm done with this thing. Back to the dealer, They beleive Stihl knows of the issue but offer no help as I'm past the 7 day mark. Even in Texas the lawn dosn't grow in February/March. Dealer claims they eat the loss and give me a new gas trimmer. BEWARE.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this trimmer I have had my FSA 56 for about two weeks now and it has preformed excellently which I expected from a Stihl product. I will more than likely get all the battery operated products from Stihl. This will also give me backup power if needed for bigger jobs
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lightweight and easy to use. Just bought a FSA 56 a week ago, its quick and easy to use. So far we like the trimmer other than the battery life. It is advertised that it will trim 5 football fields but it won't. I can have a full charge on it and get between 5 and 10 minutes of use. If you purchase one of these I highly recommend buying a second battery. But for the price I suggest just using a regular gas powered trimmer.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective carburetor Carburetor leaked within first month of purchase and had to be replaced. Fortunately it was under warranty.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it over gas weed eater Just bought one 3 days ago ...dealer and Website both say single charge will do 5 football fields. ...yeah that's BS...definitely need a second battery if u want to keep going. .that's the only negative I've found. .I love it ...
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the Greatest tool quiet and reliable I bought this is the best thing since sliced bread is quiet reliable and it keeps on working
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome unit but can't find info on length of battery charge on stihl website Awesome love the weight & operation. Looking to buy a 2nd battery
Date published: 2017-03-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_fsa56, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl